Dean's Prize

Dean’s Prize

The Dean's Prize, introduced in 2007, is awarded at the Faculty of Pain Medicine's annual general meeting to the fellow or trainee judged to have presented the most original pain medicine/pain research paper, of sufficient standard, at the free papers session of the faculty's annual scientific meeting (ASM).

Eligibility is limited to trainees of the Faculty of Pain Medicine, trainees of the five participating professional bodies of the FPM, or faculty fellows who are within eight years* of admission, except for elected fellows who must be within eight years* of admission to their original fellowship at the date of the meeting.

The prize consists of a certificate and a $A1000 grant for educational or research purposes.


Year  Recipient Region

Dr Luke Arthur - Erythromelalgia in children: Presentation, genotype, and treatment response


Not awarded

2016 Dr Linda Trang - Postoperative analgesic efficacy of continuous wound infusion of local anaesthetic compared to opioid patient controlled analgesia after laparotomy: a prospective study (NSW) NSW
2015 Dr Preeti Ananda Krishnan - An audit of intrathecal infusion catheter with subcutaneous port in the management of severe pain in patients with cancer. SA
2014 Dr Julia Dubowitz - Incidence of persistent post surgical pain after pelvic exenteration Vic
2013 Dr Chui Chin Chong - Analgesic efficacy of oral versus sublingual ketamine Vic
2012 Not awarded  
2011 Dr Rohan Russell SA
2010 Dr Rutha Nerlekar SA
2009 Dr Paul Wrigley NSW
2008 Dr Paul Wrigley NSW

* Taking into account career disruption. A career disruption involves a prolonged interruption to an applicant’s capacity to work, due to: Pregnancy; major illness/injury; or carer responsibilities. Interruptions must involve either a continuous absence from work for periods of 28 calendar days or more and/or a long-term partial return to work that has been formalised with the applicant’s employer
Copyright © Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists.