FPM Best Free Paper Award

FPM Best Free Paper Award

The Best Free Paper Award is awarded for original work judged to be the best contribution to the Free Papers Session of the Faculty of Pain Medicine. The Faculty Free Paper session is open to all ASM registrants. The prize takes the form of a certificate and a grant of $A500 for educational or research purposes and will be awarded at the FPM annual general meeting.


2018 - Dr Daniel Chang - The prevalance and risk factors associated with persistent pain after breast cancer treatment (NZ)

2017 - Dr Paul Wrigley - New evidence for preserved somatosensory pathways in people with complete spinal cord injury: a fMRI study (NSW)

2016 - Associate Professor Phillip Peyton - Reduction of chronic post-surgical pain with ketamine (ROCKet) pilot trial (VIC)

2015 - Dr Luke Arthur - 60,000+ years and 12 papers: a systematic review of pain assessment, experience
and management in aboriginal Australian peoples.

2014 - Dr Sumitra Bakshi - ReSOnS trial - REctus Sheath block for postoperative analgesia in gynaeco-Onco Surgical patients – a double blinded randomized controlled trial. 

2013 - Associate Professor David Champion - Genetic influences and associations of common idiopathic/functional pain syndromes of childhood: Evidence from twin family case-control studies. 

2012 - Dr Sarika Kumar - Total and free ropivacaine drug levels during continuous transversus abdominis plane (TAP) block for postoperative analgesia after abdominal surgery: A pilot study. 

2011 - Dr Allyson Browne - Screening for acute factors that predict pain post trauma: A pilot study.
Copyright © Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists.