2011 Spring Meeting


The organising committee takes pleasure in inviting your participation in the 2011 Spring Meeting of the Faculty of Pain Medicine, to be held at The Canberra Hyatt from 28 – 30 October 2011.


The theme of the meeting is “An exploration of the Pain & Musculoskeletal Polemic & Policies, Procedures and Pragmatics”. This apparently unusual theme explores the challenging and controversial interface of whether “musculoskeletal” pain is generated peripherally or within the central nervous system, a question with major theoretical and practical implications. Of course, as would befit any political discussion in Canberra, the answer may well be that the whole is greater than either alone!


Our Visitor, Professor Lars Arendt-Nielsen of Denmark, is of international renown for his scientific study of the neurophysiology of peripheral musculoskeletal injury, the central nervous system responses to this, and their relationship to chronic pain. He will share with us his insights for quality pain management.


There is also a line-up of internationally well-known Australian and New Zealand speakers who will address the “peripheral vs central” polemic in this field. There will be plenary sessions and topical sessions aimed at exploring policies around pain practice, and providing pragmatic pain management strategies.

The meeting intends to attract pain medicine physicians, rehabilitation physicians, musculoskeletal physicians and indeed anyone interested in this unique theme of “An exploration of the Pain & Musculoskeletal Polemic – Policies, Procedures and Pragmatics”.


Thanks are extended to our sponsors and exhibitors for their generous support of the meeting.


Dr Geoff Speldewinde


Registration brochure


Further details


Pre-Meeting Workshop on Thursday 27th October

The Annual Meeting of the Australian Chapter of the INS (International Neuromodulation Society) will be held at the Old Parliament House, Canberra. For more information, please click here



Faculty of Pain Medicine - Spring Meeting 2011







Copyright © Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists.