About us

Dr Roger Goucke and Dr Wayne Morriss, both ANZCA Fellows, developed the Essential Pain Management program following discussions about the lack of training opportunities for pain management in PNG with anaesthetists in Papua New Guinea.


Dr Goucke and Dr Morriss ran a pilot program assisted by local anaesthetists Dr Gertrude Marun and Dr Harry Aigeeleng in Lae and Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea in April 2010.


ANZCA supported further development of the Essential Pain Management program and more courses were run in the Pacific during 2010 and 2011, along with pilot courses in Africa (Rwanda) and Asia (Mongolia). A map of countries where the Essential Pain Management program is offered is available here.


The Essential Pain Management Sub-Committee was established to handle the governance of the EPM program in early 2013. The sub-committee includes international representation and reflects the strong and continuing growth of the program.


Contact EPM

Essential Pain Management Sub-Committee


630 St Kilda Road

Melbourne Victoria 3004



Phone: +61 3 9510 6299

Fax: +61 3 9510 6786

Email: epm@anzca.edu.au


Recent program updates and other news is  available from Facebook at  Essential-Pain-Management

Further information on the ANZCA overseas aid program managed by the ANZCA Overseas Aid Committee is available here.
Copyright © Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists.