Front page news collection

A review of the scientific evidence has resulted in a change to the equianalgesic ratio for tapentadol within PM01 Appendix 2 - Opioid Dose Equivalence Table.

We are pleased to announce the following fellows have been successful at the 2019 FPM Board election, and we extend our congratulations.
The faculty attended the launch of Painaustralia’s Cost of Pain in Australia report at Parliament House, Canberra on Thursday April 4. 
A faculty-commissioned report into the ballooning cost of chronic pain highlights the need for a national pain strategy in New Zealand.
Chronic pain costs New Zealand more than diabetes or dementia, according to a new report commissioned by the Faculty of Pain Medicine.
We are seeking expressions of interest from fellows to review the guideline Use of “off label” or drugs beyond licence in pain medicine .
Faculty trainees and supervisors of training can now edit the in-training assessment (ITA) form electronically. 
Join the faculty in participating and promoting the Global Year Against Pain in the Most Vulnerable from now until December 31, 2019. 
ANZCA fellow Dr Richard "Harry" Harris has been named joint Australian of the Year while former FPM deans Penny Briscoe and Milton Cohen have been recognised.
We've developed a new emergency response standard on acute severe behavioural disturbance for the adult patient specifically for faculty fellows for 2019.
Victorian fellows can register with SafeScript and log onto a secure webportal to review patients' prescribing and dispensing monitored medications data.
Your feedback will help inform our position and strategy around the safe and appropriate use of opioids for people with chronic pain.
You have until January to have your say on a new pilot policy around the review and development of professional documents.
Subsequent to the consultative forum held in October 2017, the faculty has promulgated a revised position statement on medicinal cannabis.
The Procedures Working Group is finalising the FPM position statement on procedures in pain medicine. It will available for feedback soon.
FPM Dean Dr Chris Hayes has launched "Pain and Progress", a new exhibition celebrating 20 years of the Faculty.
The ANZCA Library and ANZCA Research Foundation have launched a new ANZCA Institutional Research Repository (AIRR).
The use of slow-release opioids in the management of acute pain has become commonplace despite overseas guidelines warning against the practice.
Copyright © Australian and New Zealand College of Anaesthetists.